C-FB RSPA General Meeting February 21, 2024 Webb Chapel Church of Christ

President Della Swaim called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m. She shared the passing of Pat Revall who was the chairperson of Member Benefits and asked for a volunteer to head this position. Della noted that the Treasurer's Report and Minutes are posted online. She thanked Carolyn Kollmeier for volunteering to do the December meeting minutes.

Linda Tole, Parliamentarian, explained revisions that needed to be made to our Standing Rules. There are two changes that were proposed. One is a change in the date of officer elections to align with District 10. The other change is the duties of the Historian/Social Media Chairperson: i.e To keep a chronological history of the C-FB RSPA saved on iCloud; share Chapter photos on social media and archive them on iCloud; share Chapter photos on Social Media so that district 10 Historian and State TRTA can access them. Motion was passed by the members without exception.

Beth Sargent, head of the nominating committee, presented the following 2024-2026 officer nominees: President, Shaima Hakimi; First Vice President, Lynn Scifo; Second Vice President, Kimberly Guinn; Secretary, Maxwell Kashiwa; Treasurer, Judy Carey. Lyn Abercrombie made the first motion to approve the slate of officers. It was seconded by Kathy Doyle. Members by a show of hands approved the slate of officer candidates. All but one member voted to approve.

Linda Bambina shared that new books will be delivered to all second grade students in the twenty-four elementary schools in CFBISD. She said that volunteers are needed to help distribute books in April. Pat Enlow added that volunteers are also needed to stamp the book plates. Members can also donate money to help with this book project.

Shaima Hakimi, First Vice President, introduced Terry Lyons for her first visit to our meeting, as well as LaDonna O'Connor who has not attended for some time. Shaima also recognized member Sharon Kerr who has been ill and unable to attend for a year. Shaima further discussed incentives for recruiting members.

Pat Enlow, Second Vice President, introduced Cassandra Hernandez who is running for District 115, where most of our members live.

Mary Eisenmann, Chairperson of Retirement Education, shared the results from the Retirement Education Zoom meeting: 450 people attended the January session.

Lee Nitcholas asked for ideas for next year's possible field trips. She suggested some venues. Beth Sargent reported the upcoming two field trips. The first one is on March 5 to Metrocrest to view new facilities. The second one is on May 4, riding the Grapevine Vintage Railroad to Fort Worth; the cost is twenty-three dollars (lunch will be extra).

Carol Sprawls, Healthy Living Chairperson, reported that four eight-person teams have committed to WAT, Walk Across Texas. Captains are Kathy Webb, Barbara Gilbert, Anita Shepherd, and Linda Bambina. The event starts on February 28th.

Lisa English, AMBA Representative, shared benefits for this year's members, as well as her availability to answer questions.

Pat Enlow introduced Dr. Megan Sorich of UT Southwest. She is an orthopedic surgeon who specializes in hip fractures for seniors. She provided information concerning risk factors, costs, and preventive measures.

Della Swaim shared that our next meeting will be April 24, 2024. NOTE! This is a change from our regular schedule because of the conflict with the TRTA State Convention in Corpus Christie. President Della Swaim adjourned the meeting at 1:30 p.m.

DarcyPerreault <u>4/10/2024</u>

Darcy Perreault Date Secretary Della Swaim. 4/10/2024 Della Swaim. Date President