CARROLLTON-FARMERS BRANCH RETIRED SCHOOL PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION

Executive Committee Meeting Minutes January 10, 2018

Following lunch, the meeting was called to order at 12:27 p.m. by Della Swaim, president.

Minutes - The minutes of the June 21, 2017 Executive Board Meeting are posted to the website.

Treasurers Reports - Judy Carey led the discussion of the current year budget updates. The current balance is \$5,277.34. She reported that 322 have paid state dues and that five delegates are eligible to attend the state convention.

Membership – Wanda Patterson discussed membership and luncheons. A report from Judy Thurman was distributed regarding the luncheons held at each meeting. A new caterer will be needed to replace the current one beginning in September 2019. Also discussed was a welcome letter for new members.

Children's Book Project – Pat Enlow gave a report on the book project. The current book balance is \$1,274.39. Several ideas were discussed regarding future book distributions and funding for the book project.

Community Volunteer Service – Della Swain reminded everyone that volunteer hours are to be sent to Kay Edmondson for 2017. These hours are reported to TRTA.

Health Care – Barbara Fletcher and Joyce Wagner reported group activity to TRTA for 2017.

Information and Protective Service – Linda Bambina reminded everyone about the need for wills and end of life paperwork.

Retirement Education – Kay Justus reported a retirement meeting will be held on February 10 in Richardson for C-FBISD/Richardson ISD employees. The meeting is cosponsored with Credit Union of Texas.

Technology – Lyn Abercrombie had nothing to report.

Field Trips – Beth Sargent and Lee Nitcholas reported the next field trip will be to The Star in Frisco.

Unfinished Business – Updating of C-FBISD bylaws online – Della reported that C-FB RSPA bylaws are outdated in Article III, Section 5. Wording needs to be changed to "current TRTA state dues".

New Business:

- Delegates to the State Convention The convention will be held April 8-10 in San Antonio.
 Delegates will be Della Swaim (President), Wanda Patterson (First VP), Pat Enlow (Second VP), Lee Nitchloas, and Judy Carey. Nichie Hoskins and Mary Eisenman will be alternates.
- Format for Candidate Forum Pat Enlow discussed the forum that will be held following the general meeting on February 21. Candidates will be invited to participate in the meeting. Also discussed was voter registration deadlines and the need for voter participation in the March 6 election.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:42.

Janet Truett Secretary