## CARROLLTON-FARMERS BRANCH RETIRED SCHOOL PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION

Minutes of September 19, 2018

The meeting, held at Webb Chapel Church of Christ, was called to order by Della Swaim, president at 11:31 A.M. Wanda Patterson introduced several guests and new members. Della pointed out a table that held job and volunteer opportunities for those interested. The US and Texas pledges followed.

Pat Enlow gave a presentation of the Book Fund Raffle and introduced committee members present. The raffle drawing will be held at the December meeting.

Dr. John Chapman, Superintendent of Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD, was welcomed and spoke regarding the \$350 million bond package that will be on the November 6<sup>th</sup> ballot. The district has invited RSPA members to a luncheon on November 9th at 11:30 A.M.

The invocation was given by Bill Nitcholas, followed by lunch. Lori Smith is the new lunch coordinator.

Door prizes were distributed by Debbie Moss and Lee Nitcholas.

Mary Eisenmann spoke briefly about TRTA benefit highlights.

Treasurer report and minutes are posted on the website. Minutes were approved by committee.

## Announcements were:

- Judy Carey introduced the Audit Committee-Bob Mora, Linda Tole and Judy Thurman. The budget for 2018-2019 was presented. Linda Tole made a motion to accept the budget as presented and it was seconded by Sandra Henry and passed.
- Upcoming field trips were discussed by Sharla Lee, Beth Sargent and Linda Frith.
- A legislative report was given by Pat Enlow. Items were:

October 9th is the last day to register to vote and the early voting is October 22nd - November 2nd.

Websites were given to check to see "Who Represents Me".

Go to trta.org to see what the issues for the midterm election are.

Websites were given to be used to educate members regarding retirement benefits.

A rally for educators will be held in Allen on October 15.

Pat Enlow introduced Bill Barnes, TRTA Legislative Coordinator, who spoke on "November 6th<sup>th</sup> General Election and the 86<sup>th</sup> Legislature".

The meeting was aujourned at 1.25 pm.		
Janet Truett, Secretary	Della Swaim	
Date Approved		