CARROLLTON-FARMERS BRANCH RETIRED SCHOOL PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION

Minutes of April 17, 2019

The meeting, held at Webb Chapel Church of Christ, was called to order by Della Swaim, president at 11:34 AM. Wanda Patterson introduced guests and led everyone in the US and Texas pledges.

Bill Nitcholas gave the invocation, followed by lunch. Thanks to Lori Smith and the "Lunch Bunch".

Della Swaim introduced the speaker, Dr. John Boyd, physician and historian, who spoke on "Parkland's Rich Legacy and History".

Door prizes were distributed by Debbie Moss and Lee Nitcholas.

A recap of the TRTA State Convention was given by Della Swaim. Seven people attended the convention. Legislative issues were also discussed.

Carol Sprawls led the group in a stretch break.

Announcements:

- Della announced that the Civic League has granted C-FB RSPA \$2,500 for the book project.

- Della and Lori announced that the current caterer is retiring and the need to find a replacement. Several options were discussed. Everyone was encouraged to answer the survey questions regarding this item.

- Lyn Abercrombie and Della spoke regarding the annual online survey. Participation was encouraged. The survey is used to help plan the events for 2019-2020.

- Della announced the upcoming book delivery to five elementary schools. Volunteers are needed to assist Gail Schwamb with the delivery.

- Lee Nitcholas announced a field trip to the lavender farm on May 22.
- The Treasurer's Report and Minutes are posted online.
- Della announced the Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD is looking for substitutes.

- Everyone is encouraged to participate in the Diamond Plus Membership with TRTA which deducts the annual membership fee from each person's monthly annuity.

Lee Nitcholas held the election of officers for 2019-2020. The following officers were recommended by the committee and elected following a motion to accept the slate of officers. Motion was made by Lyn Abercrombie and seconded by Linda Bambina.

Della Smith, President; Lori Smith, 1st Vice President; Pat Enlow, 2nd Vice President; Darcy Perreault, Secretary; Judy Carey, Treasurer.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:29 P.M.

Janet Truett, Secretary

Date Approved _____